On Water & Dependency

Last night, my husband heard the doorbell ring. It was our apartment manager, telling us they’d had a leak in the water main and had to shut all the water off.

water leak

I stared at him, dumbly, then asked: “So what does this mean?”

(I’m often like this in brand-new scenarios: freeze, try to gather data, think hard about next steps. Once I’ve done it a few times, I can jump into action — but the first time? Yes, I do ask idiotic questions like that.)

So, last night, we didn’t do the dishes. We drank juice from the fridge, not water from the tap. I brushed my teeth with the few dribbles left in the bathroom. We contemplated going to the bar across the street just to use their facilities.

We went to sleep not knowing if we’d be able to shower in the morning. (Would we have to wipe ourselves down with baby wipes, put on some deodorant, and walk up the street to Starbucks to beg for some of that all-necessary water?? And buy coffee too — no water means we couldn’t make our own.)

I didn’t realize how dependent I was on our water system until it was gone.

“…But whoever drinks of the water that I will give him will never be thirsty again. The water that I will give him will become in him a spring of water welling up to eternal life.”

–Jesus, John 4:14

God isn’t like a leaky water main. He is the unthinkably deep source of the truest water we I need. And He doesn’t run dry or have to call a plumber.

I’d had a conversation earlier that day about how much God cares for us, how much He loves us, how much He orchestrates events for our good and His glory.

If just one small thing (no water for a few hours) could upset me this much, how much is God doing for me every . single . day that I take for granted?

And how much can I trust Him to keep providing?

Completely. 🙂

“It is the LORD who goes before you. He will be with you; he will not leave you or forsake you. Do not fear or be dismayed.”

-Joshua 1:5

Standard

Leave a Reply

